each will appear or not appear (2011)

each will appear or not appear (2011) is scored for two bowed strings and voice. Each player chooses to play a pitch or remain silent, set within a repeating structure. The sounds are held on the edge of silence, and are unstable as a result. The title is taken from the text for Robert Smithson and Mel Bochner’s The Domain of the Great Bear (1966). The piece is part of the series divisions that could be autonomous but that comprise the whole (2009- ) and was written for Sara Stowe, Matthew Spring, and Jon Banks.